News, Reviews & Interviews



Ex-NIGHTWISH Singer TARJA TURUNEN: 'The Brightest Void' Track-By-Track Breakdown

Posted June 10, 2016 by Josh Drespling in Uncategorized

While waiting for the August 5 release of Tarja Turunen‘s new album, “The Shadow Self”, the former NIGHTWISH singer has issueed the new album’s prequel, “The Brightest Void”. With over 50 minutes of new music, the extra album will sweeten the wait until August.

A track-by-track breakdown of “The Brightest Void” is available below.

Tarja explains: “During the long process of recording the songs for my new studio album, ‘The Shadow Self’, I realized that there were so many tracks, too many too dear to me, for just one album. So this time I decided to keep nothing for myself and to share all my favorite new songs with you, the fans, who have shown such passionate and constant support.

‘The Brightest Void’ gives more than a first taste of ‘The Shadow Self’; it is a full album filled with nine songs!

“I am sure that everyone will immediately discover how much ‘The Brightest Void’ and ‘The Shadow Self’ are entwined with each other but, at the same time, are two independent records which stand on their own.

“I hope the release of the prequel sweetens the wait until August and that you will like the songs as much as I do. I will present songs from both albums already in summer festivals and in my headliner tour later this year.”

“The Brightest Void” will be released on June 3 via earMUSIC as a CD digipak, LP+download code and as a digital download.

“The Brightest Void” features not one but three incredible guest artists: fellow Finnish star Michael Monroe, icon of the glam rock scene and former frontman of inspiring band HANOI ROCKS; Chad Smith (who doesn’t need any further introduction) and a new mix of WITHIN TEMPTATION‘s collaboration “Paradise (What About Us)”, carried out with Tarja and world-renowned sound engineer and producer Tim Palmer. The prequel presents Tarja‘s new single, “No Bitter End”, as the album opener and furthermore shakes you with an incredible cover of Sir Paul McCartney‘s overlooked gem “House Of Wax” and adds a new twist to Dame Shirley Bassey‘s James Bond theme “Goldfinger”.

“The Brightest Void” track listing:

01. No Bitter End
02. Your Heaven And Your Hell (feat. Michael Monroe)
03. Eagle Eye (feat. Chad Smith on drums)
04. An Empty Dream
05. Witch Hunt
06. Shameless
07. House Of Wax
08. Goldfinger
09. Paradise (What About Us) (new mix feat. WITHIN TEMPTATION)

Source: Balbbermouth
Ex-NIGHTWISH Singer TARJA TURUNEN: 'The Brightest Void' Track-By-Track Breakdown

About the Author

Josh Drespling

Josh is the Publisher and creator of Empire Extreme and it’s sister publication Kingdom Extreme Magazine. He is an accomplished writer, photographer and graphic designer. He is always conjuring up new ideas and has a amazing passion for the music industry and all the things that surround it.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response


Advertise with Empire Extreme