News, Reviews & Interviews



Incite – Oppression (review)

Posted May 30, 2016 by Ron in CD Reviews

Incite – Oppression (review)

By Ron Senyo

Ok, lets get the elephant out of the room. Yes, this band is fronted Richie Cavelerra . Yes, he is the step-son of Max Cavelera of Soulfly, Sepeltura, and Cavelera Conspiracy fame. But don’t be fooled into thinking that his relationship with one of the most recognizable faces in metal is the only reason that Incite has been making great strides in the industry. Oppression which was released on April 22nd through Minus Head Records is the fourth full length album from Incite.

This five piece groove metal band from Arizona has a much more developed sound on this release. They kick the fire and light the tires bringing groove metal tinged with death to the forefront on Oppression.

The album kicks off with the hard driving “Never Surrender”, which a perfect way to start off the album and introduce their updated sound that is somewhat reminiscent of Machinehead. If you listen closely you can hear a bit of Max’s influence buried in there too. This track kicks you so hard in the teeth that you don’t have any time to know what hit you.

The album progresses thought a series of tight almost mosh-style rhythms. There are a few moments that I thought I was hearing Scott Ian playing. The title track “Oppression” starts off with a hook that makes you want to throat punch your old decrypted grandma, while Ritchie screams “I will destroy you”.

The track “I Want It All” starts with guttural scream of “Heavy Fucking Metal!” This song could be the definition of the New Wave of American Heavy Metal, with lyrics like “My way or nothing, I want it all.” It also has a little Kerry King-like lead break at the 1:20 minute mark for good measure.

Overall a solid release from a band that is growing and getting better by the moment. I can see Incite progressing to a much greater level of success as they promote and tour on the cycle of this album. After all, this is how metal should be done, kick ass vocals, shredding guitars, heavy rhythms, and drums banging the fuck out of each other. I recommend this band to everyone who wants some kick ass metal shoved down your quaint little pie hole.

Track Listing:

1. Never Surrender
2. Lost Reality
3. Stagnant
4. No Remorse
5. Oppression
6. Life’s Disease (feat. Connor Garritty of All Hail The Yeti)
7. Forced Into Life
8. Worst Of Me
9. I Want It All (feat. Jose Mangin of Sirius XM Radio )
10. Silenced

About the Author


Ron has keen eye for talent and a love for the underground and has a tremendous love for music of any genera. You’ll probably bump into him at a horror convention or some seedy club checking out the next new band.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response


Advertise with Empire Extreme