News, Reviews & Interviews



LITA FORD, ORIANTHI, NITA STRAUSS, JENNIFER BATTEN Featured On 'She Rocks, Volume 1' Compilation

Posted October 20, 2016 by Josh Drespling in Empire Extreme News Feed

Who says the ladies can’t rock? Favored Nations Entertainment has announced the upcoming release of the all-female compilation “She Rocks, Volume 1”. This collection of kick-ass guitar goddesses is produced by author and former Guitar World editor Brad Tolinski with iconic guitarist Steve Vai as executive producer, and showcases eleven female guitarists, each a virtuoso in her own right. From the legendary Lita Ford to Sarah Longfield‘s jazzy riffin’, to Orianthi‘s melodic stylings and the all-out shredding of Nita Strauss, these players each contribute their own voice to this carefully curated collection.

“She Rocks, Volume 1” compilation will be released on January 20, 2017 via Vai‘s own Favored Nations label, and in cooperation with the Women’s International Music Network, hosts of the famed She Rocks Awards. The compilation will be celebrated at the 2017 She Rocks Awards, taking place that evening in Anaheim, California during the annual NAMM convention.

These shredding songstresses cover the stage when it comes to style and personality; Ford is the quintessential guitar rock goddess with decades of top-shelf performances, Jennifer Batten made her name playing for Michael Jackson, Strauss has toured with Alice Cooper for the past year, and the list goes on!

“Through the years women have become more and more interested in ripping it up on the guitar,” said Vai. “It’s amazing to watch. Favored Nations is very excited to be working with producer Brad Tolinski in creating a compilation of many of the women who are evolving the instrument in powerful ways. They are wildly raising the bar.”

Added Tolinski: “People always ask me about the future of the guitar, and in many ways, the artists on this album are the answer. They represent a new vision and a fresh sensibility.”

“She Rocks, Volume 1” track listing:

01. Orianthi – “Transmogrify”
02. Yasi Hofer – “Cosmic Stars”
03. Kat Dyson – “U Know What I Like”
04. Sarah Longfield – “The Taxi Time Travel Task Force”
05. Lita Ford w/ LEZ ZEPPELIN – “The Lemon Song”
06. Jennifer Batten – “In The Aftermath”
07. Nita Strauss – “Pandemonium”
08. Steph Paynes – “The Sun At Her Eastern Gate”
09. Nili Brosh – “A Matter Of Perception”
10. Gretchen Menn – “Scrap Metal”
11. Yvette Young – “Hydra”

Source: Blabbermouth NEW
LITA FORD, ORIANTHI, NITA STRAUSS, JENNIFER BATTEN Featured On ‘She Rocks, Volume 1’ Compilation
@Empireextreme1 #EmpireExtreme

About the Author

Josh Drespling

Josh is the Publisher and creator of Empire Extreme and it’s sister publication Kingdom Extreme Magazine. He is an accomplished writer, photographer and graphic designer. He is always conjuring up new ideas and has a amazing passion for the music industry and all the things that surround it.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response


Advertise with Empire Extreme