News, Reviews & Interviews



MAGNUM To Release 'The Valley Of Tears – The Ballads' Album In January

Posted November 10, 2016 by Josh Drespling in Empire Extreme News Feed

Renowned not only for their powerful rock songs but also for countless moving ballads, British rock icons MAGNUM are set to surprise their fans with a very special release at the very beginning of the coming year. Due on January 6, 2017 (U.S. and Canada on January 20, 2017), “The Valley Of Tears – The Ballads” is an album featuring ten of the band’s most accomplished ballads, all of them remastered and in parts even newly re-recorded and remixed.

Guitarist, composer and producer Tony Clarkin states: “The release of this album was originally inspired by my daughter. A few months ago she asked me, ‘MAGNUM have so many beautiful quiet numbers. Why don’t you put together a compilation highlighting some of the most powerful tracks?’ Olly Hahn of Steamhammer/SPV was immediately taken by the concept, so I set down to work on it.”

“The Valley Of Tears – The Ballads” contains material from the band’s different creative phases. Along with remastered versions of more recent ballads from albums such as “Into The Valley Of The Moonkings”, “The Visitation” and the current studio recording “Sacred Blood – Divine Lies”, there will also be a newly re-recorded acoustic version of their classic “Lonely Night” and a new haunting live version of their hit “When The World Comes Down” from their 1986 cult recording “Vigilante”.

The release will be supported by selected shows in the U.K. and Ireland during the run-up to Christmas and a German/Swiss tour where Tony Clarkin and Bob Catley join the “Rock Meets Classic” tour from March 30, 2017. Some more festivals for summer 2017 will be announced shortly.

“The Valley Of Tears – The Ballads” will be released as a digipak version, download and stream through SPV/Steamhammer.

“The Valley Of Tears – The Ballads” track listing:

01. Dream About You (remastered)
02. Back In Your Arms Again (newly re-recorded)
03. The Valley Of Tears (remixed, remastered)
04. Broken Wheel (newly re-recorded)
05. A Face In The Crowd (remixed, remastered)
06. Your Dreams Won’t Die (remastered)
07. Lonely Night (acoustic version, newly re-recorded)
08. The Last Frontier (remixed, remastered)
09. Putting Things In Place (remixed, remastered)
10. When The World Comes Down (new live version)

Source: Blabbermouth NEW
MAGNUM To Release ‘The Valley Of Tears – The Ballads’ Album In January
@Empireextreme1 #EmpireExtreme

About the Author

Josh Drespling

Josh is the Publisher and creator of Empire Extreme and it's sister publication Kingdom Extreme Magazine. He is an accomplished writer, photographer and graphic designer. He is always conjuring up new ideas and has a amazing passion for the music industry and all the things that surround it.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response


Advertise with Empire Extreme