News, Reviews & Interviews



PRIMORDIAL To Release 'Gods To The Godless (Live at Bang Your Head Festival Germany 2015)'

Posted October 26, 2016 by Josh Drespling in Empire Extreme News Feed

Irish pagan metallers PRIMORDIAL will release their first live album, “Gods To The Godless (Live at Bang Your Head Festival Germany 2015)”, on November 25 via Metal Blade Records.

PRIMORDIAL vocalist vocalist Alan “Nemtheanga” Averill comments: “It might seem like an unusual move, a double live album. Especially within the scene we are from, but the live album was once a staple of most bands’ careers and something we all grew up with in our collection. Pouring over tour dates, gear information and killer live pics. Okay, so it’s not ‘Live After Death’, but you can see the attraction and taste the romance involved, right? Fact is, though, we hadn’t planned it; it was basically a happy coincidence. The good people at Bang Your Head!!!, who took such a risk booking us the first time on a more traditional old-school rock festival had us back for the fourth time, gave us a proper headlining set length and happened to mention afterwards that they had a mobile recording device rigged up and ready to go. When we listened back to the tapes, we found something we could work with and the idea took shape.

“If you love the band, you will know what to expect: blood, guts and passion — and believe us, the double vinyl will look beautiful! If we’ve been in your orbit, but you’ve never trained your sights on us properly, this might be a good place to start as the sound is massive, the old songs have some added muscle and the planets aligned to make ‘Gods To The Godless’ perhaps a great introduction to the band. From our side, it felt like something important to do, like taking advantage of an opportunity to make not only a standalone album in its own right, but also add something rich to the heritage and tapestry of metal that once hinged on the live album. The tradition reaches back into the ’70s and ’80s and we are proud to have our own small place in that pantheon! And for the record…not one single overdub. This is truly live and dangerous…”

“Gods To The Godless (Live at Bang Your Head Festival Germany 2015)” track listing:

01. Gods to the Godless (Live)
02. Babels Tower (Live)
03. Where Greater Men Have Fallen (Live)
04. No Grave Deep Enough (Live)
05. As Rome Burns (Live)
06. The Alchemists Head (Live)
07. Bloodied Yet Unbowed (Live)
08. The Coffin Ships (Live)
09. Heathen Tribes (Live)
10. Wield Lightning to Split the Sun (Live)
11. Empire Falls (Live)

Source: Blabbermouth NEW
PRIMORDIAL To Release ‘Gods To The Godless (Live at Bang Your Head Festival Germany 2015)’
@Empireextreme1 #EmpireExtreme

About the Author

Josh Drespling

Josh is the Publisher and creator of Empire Extreme and it’s sister publication Kingdom Extreme Magazine. He is an accomplished writer, photographer and graphic designer. He is always conjuring up new ideas and has a amazing passion for the music industry and all the things that surround it.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response


Advertise with Empire Extreme