News, Reviews & Interviews



Video Premiere: THE SHAPE's 'The World Away'

Posted September 15, 2017 by Josh Drespling in Empire Extreme News Feed

“The World Away”, the new video from the alternative metal act THE SHAPE, can be seen below. The song is the title cut of the Connecticut band’s fourth studio album, which was released on August 4 via DME/Monolithic Recordings.

THE SHAPE vocalist/guitarist Brian Almeida stated about the song and video: “For ‘The World Away’, it is the second video from the album, but also the title track. It’s very important, lyrically, to the main theme of the record. It’s a powerful and something everyone can relate to in their life at some point. It’s about life circumstances and choices that affect the dynamics of relationships of all types to the point of being pushed so far away from something or someone you love; to the point where you turn around and you’re so estranged, so far from where you started and want to be. You wonder how you got there.

“The video shows three individual stories that manifest into derailing each of us from our desired lives in different fashions. It’s very open to interpretation, which to us is a great thing.

“We know what it means personally to us. What do you make of it? How does it mirror in your life? Musical therapy.”

THE SHAPE was founded in New Haven in 2006 by Almeida and Chris Carlino. For over a decade, they’ve catapulted their constantly evolving mixture of metallic fury and potent melodies into the forefront of the New England metal scene.

Produced by Charlie Bellmore, mixed/engineered by Nicholas T. Rage at Dexter’s Lab in Milford, Connecticut, and mastered by Chris “Zeuss” Harris, “The World Away” boasts fourteen brand new tracks and is the culmination of THE SHAPE perfecting its sound.

“The World Away” track listing:

01. Our Paradise, Lost (intro)
02. The Devil In Your Eyes
03. Mouthbreather
04. Decimation
05. Hope
06. The World Away
07. Cast Away (instrumental)
08. Where The Sun Sleeps
09. The Dark
10. Lightning Rod
11. The Bargain
12. Anathema
13. In The Valley Of Lies
14. Circle 9 (The Desolate Ones)

The album artwork was created by Kevin James Frear and can be seen below.


Brian Almeida – Vocals, Guitar
Tom Voytek – Guitar, Vocals
Dan Amore – Bass, Vocals
Pete Smith – Drums, Percussion

Source: Blabbermouth NEW
Video Premiere: THE SHAPE’s ‘The World Away’
@Empireextreme1 #EmpireExtreme

About the Author

Josh Drespling

Josh is the Publisher and creator of Empire Extreme and it's sister publication Kingdom Extreme Magazine. He is an accomplished writer, photographer and graphic designer. He is always conjuring up new ideas and has a amazing passion for the music industry and all the things that surround it.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response


Advertise with Empire Extreme